Des Knaben Wunderhorn (Original Piano Versions)


Baritone Thomas Hampson collaborates with pianist Geoffrey Parsons on this acclaimed album featuring the original piano settings of Mahler’s Des Knaben Wunderhorn.

“Thomas Hampson brings his notorious intelligence fully to bear on this recording: among other things, he co-wrote the program notes for this disc. More important, however, he brings the fullness of his voice and interpretive soul. His performances of the canonical Wunderhorn songs are scary and funny and often profoundly affecting. But his performances of the “new” Wunderhorn songs are revelatory. “Urlicht,” “Es sungen drei Engel einen sussen Gesang,” and “Das himmlishe Leben” have previously existed only as symphonic movements. Hampson’s sweetly spiritual performances return these songs to the more intimate realm of the recital hall.” -James Leonard

Track Listing:
01 Gustav Mahler – Der Schildwache Nachtlied
02 Gustav Mahler – Revelge
03 Gustav Mahler – Rheinlegendchen
04 Gustav Mahler – Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht?
05 Gustav Mahler – Verlorne Müh”!
06 Gustav Mahler – Trost im Unglück
07 Gustav Mahler – Lob des hohen Verstands
08 Gustav Mahler – Des Antonius von Padua Fischpredigt
09 Gustav Mahler – Lied des Verfolgten im Turm
10 Gustav Mahler – Der Tamboursg”sell
11 Gustav Mahler – Wo die schönen Trompeten blasen
12 Gustav Mahler – Das irdische Leben
13 Gustav Mahler – Das himmlische Leben
14 Gustav Mahler – Urlicht
15 Gustav Mahler – Es sungen drei Engel